Khan Rowlands Duo

The Khan Rowlands duo perform music ranging from the renaissance and baroque to contemporary compositions by English, Welsh and Latin American composers, as well as the major works for duo of the great Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla performed on his own instrument, and other tango classics. The duo perform recitals and also appear with orchestras in the Double Concerto of Astor Piazzolla and tango works arranged by Julian Rowlands.

Adam Khan, guitar

Adam Khan is an international touring artist who appears at prestigious concert venues and festivals throughout the world. Adam has championed contemporary guitar music from his native Wales and from Latin America, and in particular Argentina.

Julian Rowlands, bandoneon

Julian Rowlands (“tango nirvana” – The Guardian) is the UK’s leading exponent of the tango bandoneon, regularly appearing on national television and radio and at major concert and theatre venues as a soloist and with Tango Siempre and other artists.

For all enquiries please email [slash_mailto address=””]

Media and Repertoire

Audio: Khan Rowlands duo play “Bordell 1900” from “Histoire du Tango” by Astor Piazzolla


Khan Rowlands Duo play excerpts from a selection of repertoire
Khan Rowlands Duo play an excerpt from “Concert d’Aujourd’hui” from “Histoire du Tango” by Astor Piazzolla


Khan Rowlands Duo play “El Vino del Olvido” by Adrien Politi


Example Repertoire

Concerto for bandoneón, guitar & string orchestra (“Hommage à Liege”) – Astor Piazzolla (1921 – 1992)
I Introduction
II Milonga
III Tribute to Liège: Tango

Histoire du Tango – Astor Piazzolla
I Bordell 1900
II Cafe
III Nightclub
IV Concert d’aujourd’hui

Tango Suite – Astor Piazzolla arr. Khan / Rowlands
I Deciso
II Andante
III Allegro

Adios Nonino – Astor Piazzolla arr Piazzolla / Tirao

La Trampera – Aníbal Troilo (1914 – 1975)

Milonga Carrieguera – Astor Piazzolla

Libertango – Astor Piazzolla

Haru no Umi – Michio Miyagi (1894 – 1956)

Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 – Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887 – 1959)

Sonata in G Major BWV 1021 – J S Bach (1685 – 1750)
I Adagio
II Vivace
III Largo
IV Presto

Concerto for guitar and strings in D RV93 – Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
I Allegro
II Largo
III Allegro

Sonata in A minor (for Arpeggione) D. 821 – Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)
I Allegro moderato
II Adagio
III Allegretto